The Tipping Point

I have a friend that I truly admire, Z. She’s a Gulf War vet. She’s a great mom. She’s a gun owner. She’s a Christian. She’ the proud parent of her kids, one Autistic. She fishes and camps with her kids. She works three jobs. She’s politically conservative. Known her for years.

I’d been casually making fairly passive posts in support of marriage equality. We’d comment a bit on them. Nothing major. One day, Z told me she’s gay. I had no clue. It had never came up. I’m married, so that kind of thing, looking at her other than a friend, made me no difference regarding her. It was like tripping a switch in my head. My friend that I admired couldn’t get re-married if she wanted to because no one was willing to stand up for her. Pissed me off that a Vet was being persecuted by the very people she defended. That a friend that I care for couldn’t get the same protections that she was willing to defend. That a good mother was denied the right to have a legitimate partner, if they were willing, to help with her kids. That a hard working, church going person was being disrespected by the very people that should look up to her. Still pisses me off. She’s why I post these posts. She’s the reason I have lost friends on FB and annoy some of those that remain. If she ever decides to get married mine won’t be threatened.

We all have our reasons for changing from passive to active. Mine is my friend, Z.

One comment

Leave a comment