The First Post

This is odd. I have no idea how this is going to work out. I have no idea how long it’s going to go on. It may be that I go back to using Facebook as a forum. It may be that I make these posts and no one ever reads them. It is my intention, starting out, to make this page as a place to post some thoughts defending my family and friends. I know they are fully capable of defending themselves. That doesn’t change my obligation. The most repressive majority of gay’s *editorial, I’m not going to put LBGTQQI on every post. deal with it. I’ll use “gay” as a blanket term and you can sort out what applies to the individual. It’s not insensitive. It’s lazy* is the group I happen to be in, straight, middle aged, Christian, white, southern, and male. That being the case, I’ll stand up and be counted against the demographic. I am not a person that would comfortably wear either of the political labels “liberal” or “conservative”, so, if you read this, please don’t put me in either of those groups. My views are probably farther to either extreme in one case or the other than yours anyway. I wish there was a way for this to be written so it didn’t feel like an exercise in narcissism. It really isn’t about me, other than these are my thoughts. What it is about is basic human dignity. The point is to educate or anger. Either way will provoke thought.

There might be days that the thoughts don’t fit all of the tag line. I don’t care. There might be days that are a rant or are frustration or just a stream of me calling asses asses. There might be days with no posts or far off topic posts. If that happens to offend you, I apologize in advance. Today is just a beginning, not an end. The end will come when either I die or my friends and family have, no longer, to worry that they are treated under the law as less than I am. 

I know that prejudice will never end. I know that hate will never end. I know that people will always be judged by conditions that are outside of their control. That sucks. As a species, the most dangerous animal there is is a human that feels justified in dehumanizing another. This is my feeble attempt to stop being a part of that.

For now, this is my stand. I believe that, as a Christian, I am called to “do unto others…” and not cast the “first stone”. I am taught that it is not my place to judge. I can find no words of Jesus condemning being gay. I can find no place that says, in the New Testament, with the exception of Paul quoting Levitical Law, that being gay is a sin. I find that the words “judge not lest you be judged” are a call to me to not put myself in the place of God. I am warned against taking a stand on the condition of someone else’s mortal soul. I find, as a man, that I should stand up for those I have called my friends. That, if I offer my loyalty, it is not a condition of friendship of family membership that they have to be the same as I am. If I had made that a condition some of the people I admire most, Sweety, Aj, and Z would not be in my world. I hope this does not come across as “look at how open minded I am”. It is merely an attempt to give background. 

I think this is enough to start with. It is for me, anyway.

3 comments

  1. In the interest of full disclosure, I have been an arrogant homophobic ass. I have said things and thought things that I wish I had not. I did not start this presuming I was perfect or all “sunshine and light”. This is a struggle against my own nature as much as society. I wish I could say different, but that would be a lie.

  2. I love it when people older than I say something sucks. (no that wasn’t the only thing I got out of that read, but that’s the one I’m commenting on)

Leave a Reply

