Is This Pointless ?

I have a huge world wide audience. Well, maybe not. It really isn’t about my ego. It is about trying to shoot arrows in the dark and hope that it makes a difference. It is about standing up for my family and my friends. It is about saying that “traditional” means following your heart. It doesn’t matter if following your heart in matters of love or faith are different from the ways I would do it. There are quite a few ways that I follow mine that are not the same as yours. It is about standing up and doing what’s right. If I do not do that, I’m not following my own heart.

I started writing on this before I went to work. On the way,I listened to a political ad for a guy that was proud of authoring a constitutional amendment defining “traditional marriage” as being between a man and a woman. I guess I missed that part. I thought a marriage was between two people that loved each other and wanted to make a lifetime commitment.

Somehow I must be out of step with the times. I thought “traditional” values were those taught by Jesus. “Love your neighbor as you love yourself”. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. I guess those values aren’t traditional or, sad to say, there are quite a few people that don’t love themselves and want to be unreasonably hated.

Maybe this is pointless. Maybe trying to be a voice of reason is a lost cause. I guess I’ll just have to keep trying and find out.

4 comments

  1. it’s not pointless. Take teachable real life moments and make them yours.
    Tell it like it is, not that you wouldn’t. Live, Love, teach, educate. Make it a better place

    1. Dean, I told Harriet that I would start this because I thought it would help. I think it might. I hope it might. Like I told Z, if one person reads it and finds out that they are not alone, then it has helped. I guess I’m trying to say that if no one reads it then they’ll never know, so, yeah, share it.

Leave a Reply

