Being Married and Other Thoughts

The greatest gift any human has ever given me was when my wife decided I was worth being married. The greatest burden I have ever placed on myself is to try to live up to that trust. It isn’t an easy thing. I fear that I fall short. She tells me I don’t. That, sometimes, doesn’t help. When I look at her, I am in awe of her strength and courage. I love her with all my heart and when I think of forever with her, it brings me a great sense of security and peace.

That being the case, my marriage is not threatened by the chance that any couple that wants to have the same thing trying to find it. My marriage is not threatened by the marriage of any other couple in the world. Period. If any couple that loves each other is willing to make the same commitment that we have, please do. Strong marriages are just that, strong marriages. Being married is more work than I ever thought it would be. Short of being a parent, being a good spouse is the toughest job there is. You have to put the needs of someone else before yourself. Stepping outside yourself isn’t easy. It doesn’t get easier with time, either. There will always be times when “I want” is harder to overcome than you would ever think possible.

All that to get to this, I will always support the marriage rights of any couple that is willing to do what it takes to be married. I will always be against any couple not willing to put the work into it being married. There is no “straight marriage”. There is no “gay marriage”. There is only marriage. I used to think that living together was the same thing. Then I got married and realized I was wrong. When you are living together there is always the chance to walk away. Married is a lifetime commitment. Even divorced, I’m not, there is still always a link.

That’s it for now. Guess there were no other thoughts.

Leave a Reply

