Why Is It So Hard ?

We are born. We will die. Those things are a given. We breathe. It happens. We muddle through as best we can. Sometimes, we are given people to walk along side of us. If we are lucky, we are given a spouse or a lifetime partner. We really have no choice in the matter. I truly believe that last bit. I think I have little if any control over my own life. I think I have control over what I decide to believe is true or not. I can control my temper. I can decide to be angry or sad or any emotion in between, but I have the firm belief that I have no control over the external bits. I can not control my wife or my friends. Why is it so hard to learn to live with that?

Why is it so hard to learn to love people and so easy to learn hate? Why is it so hard to accept someone that doesn’t fit your notions of “proper”. Why is it so hard to realize that, to them, you are the one that isn’t “normal”? Why is it so hard to realize that the world is never going to conform to your notions? Why is it so hard to realize that you have no control? Period.

I’m not advocating blind acceptance of hardship without trying to change the circumstance. If I were, I’d have not started these posts. I am advocating learning to embrace people that do things differently than you do. They had their path to the place that they are living. Why not learn? Why is it so hard?

Leave a Reply

