Complicity in the Faith

I am neither Pagan nor Gay. I don’t march in Pride parades. I write blog posts viewed by very few and FB statuses. I do stand beside my friends, ALL my friends.

Southern Fried Witch

silence-poster

Makes me that much stronger
Makes me work a little bit harder
Makes me that much wiser
So thanks for making me a fighter.
Christina Aguilera, “Fighter.”

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only love can do that.  Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.
Martin Luther King Jr.

I remember it like it was yesterday.  I’ve blogged about this before, but today: I feel my friend standing behind me.  Skinny. Blond.  Troubled.  Bullied.  And now, gone.  But I feel him, and I remember the first time I stood up for someone.  It wouldn’t be the last.

If for no other reason, I loved S.W. for his tenacious refusal to stop eating lunch in the cafeteria.  I will never fully understand how bullying plays out in other regional arenas, but y’all: in the South it is brutal.  All our mommas knew each other, got their “hair did” together…

View original post 1,168 more words

Leave a Reply

