I Don’t Understand

There are a lot of things I don’t understand. Here are a few…

I don’t understand why my wife loves me. I don’t understand why my friends do, either. No matter how hard I try, I really don’t understand love. I do know it exists, though.

I don’t understand why people hate the people I love without knowing them. I don’t want to understand that, though. 

I keep trying to figure it out. I keep trying to find a way to understand the unreasoning fear of my friends. I think, if I could understand, then I could help to remove those fears. I also think that if I understood those fears they might sound rational. *sigh*

I don’t understand why we feel a need to vilify people that mean us no harm. I don’t understand why my closest friends are vilified, scorned, and repressed by people that have no personal knowledge of them. My friends are not demons. They are nice ladies. They are my friends. If they weren’t good people, they wouldn’t be my friends. 

I don’t understand the need to judge them based on matters of self-identity. Being gay, straight, Pagan, Christian or a myriad of other things are not choices. It is not like deciding what shirt to wear. It isn’t going to be changed on a whim. It isn’t like picking a tee shirt with a slogan on it so you can make a statement. It is not designed to send a message or encourage you to believe or live like they do. It is who they are. My friends are not criminals.  They don’t deserve to be denied basic human rights. I don’t understand why people don’t see that.

I don’t understand why my friends are treated like objects. They are not. 

I don’t understand the mentality that does not accept the basic fact that we SHARE this rock for as many days as we live. I don’t understand why we seem to forget the simple truth of this poem…

“No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thy friend’s
Or of thine own were:
Any man’s death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; 
It tolls for thee.”

John Donne
 
What I do understand is this, I will try, as often as I can, in every way I can think of, to persuade anyone that will read my words, that my friends deserve to be treated as the people they are. That they are not to be feared, vilified, or marginalized. If there is a way to help me to understand how to make that simple point, please let me know. I want to understand.
Leave a Reply

