An Open Letter to Aj and Z

Dear Aj and Z, 

I’ve been thinking about a conversation we had the other day. You guys were telling me to back off on these posts if I was getting “burned out”. I decided to write a response. True to form, since the conversation was public, I thought I’d make a public response.

It is my privilege to write about and for you guys. I am allowed, by you, to be a voice. You do not realize how much that trust means to me. You encouraged me to write and use you guys as my examples. You don’t censor, even though I’ve offered, these posts. You guys are the people I go to when I need support. It is the very least I can do to try to return it. You have never judged me because of my past, merely accepted my present. That I happen to love the both of you is an added bonus.

I truly wish I did not ever again have to make a post as your advocate. That would mean that the job was done. Since things are the way they are, I’m going to keep at it. It is a pleasure to have people in my life that I care about enough to want to write for them. It is not some “burden” when the two of you are the subjects. The only things that cause me any grief while I write these are that the wider readers do not see what I see. That there are people that, without knowing you, have judged you. That saddens and angers me. The result is that I write so that I might change the views of those that would change you. 

Please remain who you are. Do not ever think that I will not listen, even if I don’t want to, to your wisdom, advice, jokes, or chiding. If you think I need to hear (read) something, do not hesitate. *editorial, I know that you won’t* I might get defensive but, I will pay attention. I promise. All I ask in return is that you keep allowing me to be an advocate for you guys. You are worth my time and emotional energy. Please allow me to share it with you.

                                                                                                         Respectfully,                                                                                                                                                                                                        Miller

Leave a Reply

