Why I Write

I would say I’m excited to be able to write. I like to write. I wish I could quit. I wish the reasons for writing this blog would go away and I could write memes or recipes or some silly thoughts I’ve had. I don’t get to, though.

I admit, I have some emotional loading when I write these. It is that I am writing for people I care about. I will admit that because of the people I write for, Aj and Z, that I am not objective. I will always try to see things from their perspective and my views will always be shaded to put them in the best light. It doesn’t really bother me that I do that.

I also know that, just looking at the numbers, these posts are probably not going to make much difference. There are, roughly, 7 billion people in the world. On a good day, 50 read these. Kind of skews the odds against making any sort of meaningful change. That doesn’t really bother me, either.

It is my privilege to be allowed, by Aj and Z, to write for them. Have you ever known someone that you want to do “nice” things for, not counting a spouse or “significant other”? If you have, then you understand some of my motivation. I’ll always be on their side. *editorial, said that a time or six*

In some ways, their issues are not mine because I’ll never be Pagan, in one case, or gay, in the other case. In the ways that count, they are both dear to me and pray for me, their issues are mine because those ladies share a part of my heart. As a result, I continue to write. I continue to try to convince my coreligionists that they are not a threat. I will try to convince anyone that will listen that it is entirely possible to be gay and Christian. I will always make the attempt to say that if you don’t want Christianity to be perceived as a threat by other faiths, you should not be a threat. I will continue to repeat that quoting dogma without doing any looking at it is dangerous and wrong.

So, with all of that up front, here we go…Jesus never said a single word about being gay. Please do not tell me that it is impossible to be gay and Christian because you believe that being gay is a sin. If you believe that being gay is a choice and that Z can become “un-gay” by wanting to be, then we are going to entirely disagree. If you believe that no one that is a sinner is “allowed” to be a Christian, then there are NO Christians. Interestingly enough, that would include Jesus. 2 Cor 5:21 “He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf…” Wonder how that got in there? Jesus was sin. Perhaps the focus should not be on the perception of what Z might, in your view, be doing wrong? Perhaps, you might consider the nature of dogma and blindly following it?

Being Pagan is a different set of issues. Pagans have to hide. At least, that’s what I’ve learned. It is because they are misunderstood. Because they are not one of the “mainstream” faiths of the world and because of their individualism, they have no “voice”. They do not practice, at least none of the ones I know, “black magic”. They do not want you to be snared by their magik at all. They just want you to leave them alone. They would appreciate a little respect since their faith is older than yours. Yeppers, hate to say this but, worshiping Nature predates Christianity. We are their younger siblings. Not that I’ll ever be Pagan but, for their beliefs to have lasted as long as they have, they must be doing something right.

Freedom to love without persecution will always be close to me. It doesn’t matter if it’s the person’s faith or who. They are intertwined issues. When we say, “I disapprove of how you love and I am willing to repress your life”, then we are not acting out of love. It really is as simple as saying “I love you” and applying no other conditions. It is NEVER my place to decide that love is a sin. It is NEVER my place to put terms or conditions on how another loves. I said, way up there, my views are biased. I have learned, from Aj and Z, that what stupidly dogmatic views I used to hold are just that, stupidly dogmatic. Faith and love are not reasoned decisions. They are personal and no one’s place to judge. Because I expect my rights, I’m going to stand up for the rights of Aj and Z.

*editorial, you will never convince me that being either Pagan or gay are a sin. you can try, if you wish but, if you use OT text to make your point, please be very sure that you are also following it “every jot and tiddle”*

Leave a Reply

