Some Thoughts…Again

I think it becomes a “walk a mile in their shoes” thing when we think about “hardship”.

Realistically, I’ll never know what it’s like to be actively persecuted. I’ll never have to face sexual harassment. I’ll never be told that my choice of love or spouse is “perversion”. I’ll never be told that I am not allowed to be Christian. I’ll never be told I’m going to Hell for being the way God Created me. Those things are hardship.

I try to write these and use Z as an example because I want people to see that it is not “them” that they are causing hardship for. It’s her. She is the one you are saying can not be Christian because she’s gay. She is the Christian you are consigning to Hell. She is the person you are denying service. She is the person you are calling “perversion” for being the way God Created her to be. She is the one that you are denying the basic civil rights that we all take for granted. She’s the one you are saying can be fired for your prejudice.

Z is the last person to complain about this stuff. I know she doesn’t like it. I know she wants it to change. I also know she is willing to allow your opinion, even if she disagrees. She’s a tough lady and NOT a whiner.

Before you complain about how rough your life is because you didn’t get your way, think about how it is to be treated like a “them”. Think about what it would be like if you were in her shoes. Then, if you still think it’s a good idea to persecute “them”, look at her and decide if you want to do it to that person right there. *points* Tell me that you would want it done to you. Make it personal.

Leave a Reply

