Kindness and a Hug

I wish there were fonts for kindness. If I had one, I’d like to be able to use it on a few or these. *editorial, that’s not the only font I wish they made*

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” Proverbs 15:1

I’d like to be able to have a civil dialogue. I’d like to sit down with a person, just one, and ask “why” ? Why have you decided that you can be actively mean to my friends? Why do you think that they are “sinners” and think that theirs is any greater than yours or mine? Why do you care what they do? Why do you go to websites that show them support and tell them that they are going to Hell. Why do you question their faith and not hold a mirror to your own? Why do you feel like they are a threat?

I’d like to be able to listen to their answers.

I’d like to be able to reply with my own path to deciding that I have come to a point where I disagree. I’d like to be able to explain how, when I read the Bible, I’m told to focus on my own actions and that I am not instructed to react out of hate or disgust but, out of love. I’d truly enjoy being able to help them find some peace within themselves. I’d love to be able to bring Aj and Z into the room and introduce them and give them a hug. *editorial, they each live about a thousand miles away in different directions and I’d love to be able to give them a hug. don’t think it’s going to happen any time soon. sigh* I wish I could find a way to convince the people that have said “God didn’t create your friends that way” for them to believe, as I do, that God DID make them just the way they are.

I wish we could have a conversation that was not wrapped in strong emotion but, in kindness. I wish that I could find a way to explain that saying hurtful things does not convince people to see your views. I wish I could find a way to explain that, if I decide that someone is going to Hell, then, I’ve decided I know better than God. I wish I could find a way to change the hearts of people so that we could realize that our job is to “‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” That when we have decided that we are called to hate, then we have failed ourselves and our neighbor. I wish that there were a way to convince people that “love the sinner but, hate the sin” is not love.

I really wish there were fonts for emotional loading. *sigh* I hope that if you read these words that you realize this is not a rant but, a plea for kindness. I wish they might give me a lever or an insight. I also wish I could give Aj and Z a hug.

Leave a Reply

