More Thinking…Fairness

*editorial, I wonder how many variations there are on that title?*

My approach to equality has been colored by my faith. It always will be. Faith is a part of me. My bias is toward my friends, Aj and Z. I have no problem admitting that. In fact, I am proud of the fact that they allow me to be their friend and advocate. My writing has always had those thoughts as a background. When I write on this page, those two are always on my mind. I have tried to use Christianity as a basis for the posts here and my advocacy for freedom of faith and equal protection. In this post, I am going to make an attempt to make a secular point. Pardon the use of the word “fair”. It is a word I rarely use because I dislike the word “unfair”.

Is it fair to demand my rights as a citizen while depriving others of the same rights?

Is it fair to use my tax dollars to support a system that uses public facilities to allow some marriages while not allowing others?

Is it fair for the United States Supreme Court to say that some groups can not be discriminated against while allowing others to be systematically repressed?

There is an argument that says that marriage is a religious creation. If that is the case, then, marriage should be treated as nothing more than “living together” with no other protections for the spouse. If it is also given civil/legal standing, then any couple that wants to be married and is willing to enter into marriage should be granted the same rights. It is only custom and religious bias that says marriage is a man and woman. To deny the same protection and availability is not only not fair, it denies “equal protection under the law”.

We want our rights as persons of faith respected but, we use our faith to deprive others of theirs. That is not fair.

2 comments

  1. Here’s what I see. Because you are coming from a christian view–I am, too, by the way–you forget that each faith, be it christian, or jewish, or hindu, or buddhist…they are all exclusionary in their own right. With the possible exception being buddhists. They basically believe we should all treat everyone well, regardless of anything other than being inhabitants of the same planet. Wait…maybe they have it all figured out. Food for thought, in the least. Jesus was at one point an inhabitant of the planet. He pretty much believed the same thing as Buddah’s teachings…in the most simplistic sense.

  2. Z, I think what I mean by my faith coloring my approach to fairness is that, from a Christian point of view, legalized inequality seems to be “un-Christian”. For me, repression is not “do unto others…” because I would not want to be repressed. Does that make sense? Also, yeah Jesus would have been a good Buddhist.

Leave a Reply

