Doesn’t Like Chocolate ?

You guys know by now that I talk to Z quite a bit. I enjoy talking to her. I trust her. Any way, we were talking and I found out something I didn’t know. I guess she was embarrassed to tell me. She doesn’t like chocolate! Why didn’t she tell me? How can that be? How can this wise, witty, friendly, likable lady not like chocolate? I’m not even sure if that’s legal. I’m beginning to wonder what else she might be hiding? What other things she might not have been able to say to me. Does she realize the economic impact of not eating chocolate? The loss of employment for everyone involved in chocolate production and distribution?

That paragraph was an attempt at humor to make a point. The point is this. The worst threat that Z poses to society is a dislike of chocolate. That’s it. She’s not going to be the “downfall of American Society”. She’s not going to corrupt your kids. She’s not going to spread her “agenda” unless you count a desire for equality as an agenda. She might, or might not, share the same political values. She is hard working. The only menace she poses is to herself. *editorial, she’s kind of a klutz when she uses tools and tends to get cuts and scrapes* She is not trying to advance herself at the expense of anyone else.

That last line is also instructive. Expanding my view of “equal” has not cost me anything. When we allow our world view to believe that “all men are created equal” to include “all men” then there is no loss to us. When we exclude someone because we feel a need to exert our personal bias, we do diminish ourselves.

In the words of John Donne.

“No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thy friend’s
Or of thine own were:
Any man’s death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls;
It tolls for thee.”

Please consider, when you exclude from your definition of humanity, you do not make those you remove less human, you make yourself less. Z is no less deserving than I am. She just doesn’t like chocolate.

Leave a Reply

