I Wish It Would Rain on the Parade

Funny thing about Z’s Parade is that I wish it would rain. As much as I like a parade and as much as I like talking about Z, a nice rain would be a good thing. If a rain of human decency would happen, the parade would be over.

I wish it would rain the same decency on the people that hate Z. I wish it would wash it away with kindness and love. I wish it would wash the paint off of their protest signs.

I wish it would rain on the apathetic ones. The ones that say, “it doesn’t hurt me so, I don’t care”. I wish the rain would wash their feet out from under them so that they would have to stand up.

I wish the rain would cause a flood of decency to break out. That’s all it is. It is nothing more than realizing that it is an either or position. Either we are the decent people we want to believe we are or we are not.

I wish it would wash away the fear and prejudice that have blinded their eyes to the truth. The truth is that there is nothing to fear from Z. The truth is that there is no reason to be prejudiced against her.

I wish it would wash the lies out of the mouths of the people that advance their own agendas, the agendas of hate, at the expense of people that mean them no harm. The ones that prey on the fears of others to gain political power. The ones that make a living by preaching hate and not love.

I wish it would rain the tiniest dose of sense on the people that don’t realize that equal means equal for everyone. The ones that can not see that there are real consequences for the people that have not been given equal rights. The people that somehow think that “separate but (un)equal” is some form of equality. I wish it would rain the same sense on my Christian friends that say “you believe all of the Bible or none of it” and then remember the parts that say being gay is “choice” without remembering the parts that say we are what we were “predestined” to be.

I wish it would rain because I love the rain and I want to splash in the puddles with Z. I am realistic. I don’t see rain clouds on the horizon. I think the best I can hope for is a scattered shower or a light drizzle. I hope that is enough.

I really wish it would rain. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

