It’s a Monday Morning “Wandering in the Dark” Kind of Post

There’s a thing that I worry about when I write these. I worry that by reminding Z that the “haters” exist and that, even though she has not been directly and knowingly insulted by them, it brings her down. You see, it is my intent to encourage her as much as it is to use her as an example of the innate goodness in every person. I do not want to discourage her by the reminder.

I have said it before and I’ll give it a repeat, I don’t think any straight person becomes even a “lazy activist” without having a specific person that we are concerned for. It doesn’t lessen the value of anyone else. It doesn’t mean that we don’t care what happens to them, too. It just means that out instinct is to protect the members of our family first. Please, if you are a member of the thousands tens of readers that happens to be gay and reads these,realize that I post for Z…and y’all. It is just that Z is family and friend. She is going to be my priority when I write. She is also the one that gave me permission to use her real name. Yes, guys, when I address her directly, I call her “Z”.

To my Pagan friends that read this, I know this blog had a bunch of posts about religious freedom in it. I still agree with those posts. I’ve gotten away from that for a while. I probably stay away for some more a while. The reasoning is simple. It seems that the issues of what determines equal protection are coming to a tipping point. *editorial, I don’t like that phrase, just not a better one* Religious freedom is protected legally. Being gay isn’t. I’m old…well, middle-aged. Focusing on one issue at a time helps my brain. Gonna stay with the issue that prompted this blog to start. It doesn’t mean you are forgotten or of lessor importance. Fair enough?

I made the last couple of posts about parades and rain. It’s rained two mornings in a row. I wonder if that’s  sign.

For what it’s worth, I think the greatest threat to equality is not the haters. I think it’s the apathetic. The ones that say, “they might be good people but, I don’t know any and it really doesn’t affect me.” I would rather have a Westboro protest happen. At least they tend to polarize people. It seems that every time they do, more people decide to stand against them. It removes apathy, even if the cause isn’t as much to be for Z as against Westboro. Either way works as long as the end is the same. I’m pragmatic on this one.

I’m looking for words that are better than “tolerate” and “accept”. If you happen to have any suggestions, please leave them as a comment to me, I’d be grateful.

I might catch a tiny bit of static if she reads the part next but, I’ll take it. *grins* Z won’t let me put her up as a “co-whatever” because she doesn’t think that “hints” or “ideas” are deserving of credit. I disagree. When you give impetus to someone’s writing, inspiration to their thoughts, an occasional kick in the rear, and, sometimes are directly quoted, you deserve credit. This blog would not exist without Z. She deserves credit. She earned it. So, if you happen to read these, think about Z. These might be my words but, they wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for her.

That’s it for this morning. Just a little mental house-cleaning.

Leave a Reply

