Why Do Different Rules Apply to Z?

Why are there different rules for different citizens? Specifically, why should a different set of laws apply to Z?

JFK said, regarding the Civil Rights struggle in 1963, “It ought to be possible…for every American to enjoy the privileges of being American… In short, every American ought to have the right to be treated as he would wish to be treated, as one would wish his children to be treated,”

Why is this a complicated thought? If different rules are to apply to Z, then the standard should be more restrictive for ME. My personal track record, except for the last few years, is to disregard laws and be entirely self-destructive. She, on the other hand, has far more regard for the law of the land. She has been a soldier. She defends the rights of those that would persecute her. She thinks of herself as an American. *editorial, I think of myself as a Texan first* It would seem to me that, if we had a “scale of rights”, she has made a greater contribution to society than I have and deserves greater freedom.

*sigh*

I know that there are going to be some people that will always be unconvinced. I know that there are some people that will always diminish her. There is going to be a portion of the population that wants to say that, because she is gay, she deserves less, that her love is less than their own, that her contributions are merely an attempt to fit in. I do not know how to change those views. What I do, time and time again, is to try to persuade them that their views need to be changed. That a person that does not hate them for their views of her deserves their respect. That a person that is willing to stipulate their right to call her things that I will not repeat and defend those rights, has earned her rights.

I don’t know why different rules apply to Z. I would hope that, in the words of JFK, we would think that she was part of “every American” and treat her that way.

Leave a Reply

