I Don’t Like Everybody

I have to tell the truth. There aren’t that many people I LIKE, much less love. I don’t expect to. I think that’s why I write these for Z.

She lives far enough away that if I needed help in the middle of the night, the sun would have risen and set before she could get here to do it. So, “what she can do for me” isn’t a factor. *editorial, she does pray for me so, that negates my previous* It is what is inside the lady that counts. It’s the indefinable “heart”. It’s how she lives and the way she is. I’m sorry that I don’t have better words.

There is a train of thought here trying to come out. I’ll muddle through some more. What I’m trying to get to here is that caring for someone and attraction is not about sex or what they might be able to do for you. It isn’t about WHO you love as much as it is about the capacity for love.

I wish, there I go again using the phrase “I wish”, that people would stop looking at people and seeing what they want to see. I wish they would look past the external and look into the heart of the person. That’s also the point of this post. Hate and disregard are perspective. When we only see the things we disagree with and the things we despise, we never learn to love.

*editorial, There is NO part of Z that falls into the last sentence for me. Please do not read it that way.*

That’s the sum of what I’m trying to say. You don’t have to love or like everyone. What you need to try to do is find a way not to hate everyone, too.

Leave a Reply

