Is It Possible To Be Gay and Christian?

The short answer is yes.

To explain…John 3:16-17 is clear. “16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.”

There are no other strings and conditions attached. There is no “but” in the statement. If you are Christian, then the statement makes no other pre-condition or qualification. It doesn’t say that a particular sect of Christianity is saved. It doesn’t say that you have to not sin and believe. It doesn’t say that it only applies to straight Christians. The operative word is “whoever.” Period.

Interestingly enough, the second verse negates the condemnation that “Christians” would apply to others of our faith. If God does not want to condemn the world but, to save it, who are we to do any different?

I’ve been asked, during the course of this “quest”, “Do you believe ALL the Bible?” I do, I’ve been looking for a good response. I don’t know why I overlooked this. I didn’t need any reassurance that Z is Christian. Now I have an answer for the nay-sayers.

7 comments

  1. If being gay isn’t a sin, then how am I supposed to understand passages like the first chapter of Romans? I’m not a “great theologian” either, bur I thought I understood clearly enough from that passage among others.

    1. I have, as a default position, that when I am faced with Biblical conflict, that I use the words of Jesus first.Scriptural cannon, with the exceptions of the Gospels, have been changed over the centuries. My understanding is that Romans was added about 400 AD to cannon. If, as a society, we disregard those verses that condone slavery and owning our wives because of social and societal change, then I am left with Jesus as a constant. We also no longer use Levitical law as Christian doctrine. What I do find, as a constant, it that God created us the way we are. The concept of “free will” does not exist in Scripture. That being the case, and my beliefs that sin is an act of volition and that being gay is not, lead me to believe that being gay is not a sin. You are welcome to disagree. That is merely my opinion.

      1. Nicely put. I’ve think we’ve come to a crossroads, though, on the topic at hand as well as on something bigger: free will. We’ll have to discuss that at another time. Until then, thank you for responding with a gentle answer.

      2. There is no point, on something as deeply personal, in being rude. We are both, and Z I might add, trying to learn the will of God and live within his will. Thank you, also, for being gentle. Had it been a different approach, I would have responded differently. I become VERY defensive when I think my friend is being “attacked”.

    1. When I get a chance. I’m a cheepskate. Read a review by an “anti” pastor that used words that set my temper off. Z is neither “abomination” nor “perversion”. So, I will probably agree with Mr Vines.

Leave a Reply

