Why Be Homophobic?

I overheard a coworker saying he was homophobic and was proud of it. I’m sorry to say I didn’t have time to call him on it. *sigh* There will be an other chance. What I don’t get is, why brag about something like that?

Where is the virtue in having an unfounded hate for someone you don’t know. What does it gain to think you’re better than someone else?

It is my privilege to be a friend of Z’s. I am a lucky man to have such a strong woman as a friend. I don’t love the person she is BECAUSE she’s gay. It doesn’t signify one way or the other. Having said that, if I were homophobic I would not have her for a friend. That would be my loss.

Perhaps I’m naive. Maybe I just don’t get it. How do people think they are “better” because they weren’t born gay? What is the rational argument for it? Why not relate to someone based on the “content of their character?”

Tomorrow, I’ll be working with the guy. I’ll ask him. I suspect I will not, knowing him, get a rational answer. I have to try. I owe it to Z and myself.

2 comments

  1. I think the only reason to brag about something like that is that they feel like it’s just “wrong” to be gay and that they have learned when they were younger (maybe in their teenage years) that it’s okay to do that against other who is not like the most people.
    Please update what he said when you’ve asked him!

    Sry for bad english!

Leave a Reply

