I Don’t Wanna

There are days when I just “don’t wanna”. This is one. I don’t wanna get up. Don’t wanna go to work. Don’t wanna deal with the “happy people”.

It doesn’t matter. No one cares what is happening here. Besides, I’m a “big boy”. That means that keeping commitments, that I decided to make, count. It means keeping my word to my boss is important. It means that doing what I told my wife I’d do is a priority. It means that, since I told Z I would, I do it.

The fact is, I’ve been tired before. Life intrudes on “wanna”. I’ll live.

All that to get to this, I don’t have it so rough. Neither does my demographic. Being straight, white, Christian, and male doesn’t make me actively persecuted. No one is passing laws to deem me sub-human. No one is filing court cases to restrict my life or love. If I need to, I can take a day off.

I don’t want to remind the person I write this in support of, Z, or the readers that find support here that y’all don’t have that option. Sorry to make the point but, y’all don’t have the option that I do. That makes my whining kind of ludicrous.

Someday, sooner rather than later I hope, you will have those options. Hopefully the USSC will settle things. It won’t stop people from disliking you any more than it will stop people from blaming me. At least, though, when you “don’t wanna”, you’ll be able to take a day off.

Leave a Reply

