Distrust

I don’t quite know how to say what I want to say, today.

I don’t trust “professional” activists. What I mean is, if you make a living as an activist, you are no longer one. Now, you have a vested interest in continuing the conflict. If the issue you are promoting becomes a moot point, you have to get a “real” job.

On the other hand, I would love to never ever have to write an other “protest post”. It would tickle me to death for Z and Cassie to never see an other post with their names in THIS context. Bear in mind, I like writing about friends because they are friends. I’d love to be able to tell you about Z’s latest fishing “adventure” or that Cassie had stopped by the shop and I got a hug. I just don’t want to have to protest for them because things are over.

Perhaps it’s just my distrust of anything that smacks of “politics”. I know I don’t like the idea of “lobbyists”. I think that if you are getting paid to do it, then it is no longer your passion but, your vocation.

I know there is a place for collective action and that staff has a full time job doing the organization. My dislike won’t change that. What I’ll be curious to see is, if the USSC rules as I want on the issue of Marriage Equality, the sites that promote that issue disband and the staff goes home.

In all fairness, I have pointed out that I distrust the “activists” that are paid. I have even less trust for the “professional haters”. Getting paid to promote hate is repugnant.

Leave a Reply

