Just a Post

I’d love to write fiction. Just to turn this blog into a children’s book or something. That’s not what I get. I write a long op-ed page. *sigh* I get to write words in support of friends. I get to express “moral outrage” at the actions of others that think they should be outraged. Go figure.

I write a long op-ed page. *sigh* I get to write words in support of friends. I get to express “moral outrage” at the actions of others that think they should be outraged. Go figure.

I get to write about love and faith. Those are things worth writing about.

I get to write about some friends. I do not always understand them. That doesn’t really matter. They live their lives, loves, and faiths differently than I live mine. That, also, doesn’t matter. They are my friends and I love them. That’s enough. If it weren’t for Aj and Z, I’d have quit writing this months ago. They told me I could stop. Problem is, I just can’t. I write for them. I WANT to write for them.

I’ve written about my faith. I’ve said I’m a Heretic Christian. I’ve painted other Christians with a broad brush. In some cases that applies. In others, it probably doesn’t. I hope that’s given my fellow Christians reasons to think about their faith.

I’ve written about hate. I don’t like hate or fear. I have both.

I’ve also touched on my own past. I was an addict. I am not now. That I’m not and do not want to ever be again is something I think about daily. I’ve also avoided giving any “political” bias. What I hope is that you can not tell if I’m Conservative, Liberal, or Libertarian. If you can, I’ve failed. I think that the freedom to live your life transcends politics.

I write about having the freedom to live your life without being repressed because you don’t fit the mould someone else wants you to fit. That is also worth writing about. Someone needs to. Looks like I’m one.

This blog and this post haven’t turned out like I expected when I started writing it. It is hard some days. Other days it’s easy. Maybe some day, I’ll write fiction. For now, I’ll keep writing what comes out of my fingers. I’ll hope that it changes the world for the better. I’ll hope that someone might realize that there’s one Texan that doesn’t care that you are “different”. I want the world to be a better place for my friends. That means that it has to be a safe place to be different for everyone. That’s not too much to ask. We are all different in our own way.

 

Leave a Reply

