Some Thoughts, Part Who Knows?

The decision not to rule by the USSC means that Z can get married in her home state. It doesn’t mean that her marriage would be recognized in mine, Texas. I know I don’t really have any right to be impatient, still, for her sake, I wish that they would settle the Marriage Equality issue. I don’t know that she ever plans to get married. If she did, it would be a lucky lady that married her. I’m just tired of having a friend treated like a second-class citizen. She has more “class” than the majority of the people I encounter.

Back to another recurring thought. If you think that the marriage any other couple is a threat to the quality of your marriage, it is not. If you are that insecure in your’s, the threat to your marriage is your own marriage. Nothing outside of Sweety and me can present a threat to our marriage.

I have free practice of my faith, Heretic Christian. I do not impose my views on anyone. I do not ask you to believe as I do. I also do not believe that what religious views ANYONE has gives them the right to impose those views on Civil Rights. Our Civil Rights protect our free practice of our faith. We live in a republic. You do not get to vote away someone’s Equal Protection just because you do things differently than them. A democracy allows a majority to tyrannize a minority. A republic protects a minority from that same tyranny. There is a difference.

Those are enough for today…

Well, one final thought. I don’t care what your personal label is. I don’t care how you describe yourself. If you’re my friend, I’ll be loyal. If you’re a decent human being, you deserve to be treated as one. If you’re a criminal, you need to be treated as that, too. I’d rather surround myself with people of different faiths or “orientations” that are good people,  than be surrounded by a bunch of jerks that share my demographic. I have achieved that goal.

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

