They Really Believe They Are Right…

According to the Gov of Indiana, he thinks that the Religious Freedom Restoration Act is a good thing. He had this to say,  “This bill is not about discrimination,” he said, “and if I thought it legalized discrimination in any way in Indiana, I would have vetoed it. In fact, it does not even apply to disputes between private parties unless government action is involved. For more than twenty years, the federal Religious Freedom Restoration Act has never undermined our nation’s anti-discrimination laws, and it will not in Indiana.”

He’s kidding, right? He thinks that allowing religious practice and belief to trump the Constitution is a good thing? Does he really understand what he’s saying?

He’s just signed a bill into law that does one of two things. It either means that, following the First Amendment, ALL religious beliefs and practices, including Sharia, must be allowed in order to avoid the state favoring one religion over another or, that he believes that the 14th’s intent that all laws must protect equally doesn’t apply to the LBGT population. The implication being that the LBGT population is undeserving of the rights afforded to all citizens because they are less than deserving of basic human rights.

This is my response…

Hey asshole, my friend Z is one of the humans on this planet that makes me think there’s the tiniest bit of hope for the species. She’s more than earned her rights as a citizen. She’s not some jackass whiner that happened to win a popularity contest by being able to pander to a constituency. She’s gone to war. She’s raising her kids to be valuable members of society. She’s brutally honest and totally loyal. You, on the other hand, can not even seem to remember an oath you took. Your oath was to ALL the citizens of your state, not just the ones that voted for you. Your oath was to uphold the Constitution. You just failed that test.

*****

Yeah, this is a “Z post”. It becomes personal when someone uses the excuse of my faith to discriminate. It becomes more personal when they discriminate against the person I go to for Christian prayer, Z, because she happens to be a Lesbian. There is not a verse in my Bible that says  “…and the Lord said, “discriminate in My Name'”. I find verses on love. I find verses saying that we treat others as we wish to be treated. I find verses that say we are to teach by our actions and our compassion.

Nowhere do I find a verse that advocates these laws. Nowhere do I find anything that advocates discrimination.

These alleged Christians do not speak for me. They do not speak for Z. The only verse I can find that seems to fit my state of mind toward them right now is, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

4 comments

  1. As always you have hit the nail squarely on its head!! John 13:34&35 would fit here too. “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another”

  2. This is well written and pleasantly acidic. This matter should upset people. It’s a huge step back for a country filled with people who thump their chest and talk about how great it is to live here. Sometimes anger is good. And this was very good.

  3. It is personal. It attacks my family. It says they are less than human. It attacks my faith. It attempts to make my faith exclusionary and not inclusive. It says that Z, who I would call my sister if she would let me, doesn’t deserve the same rights I take for granted. I rarely, maybe twice in 300ish posts, have used profanity. “Acidic” doesn’t begin to describe the contempt I have for the elected officials of Indiana.

Leave a Reply

