Complications and Confusions…

Life is a complicated and confusing place. In that vein, I’m trying to reduce that confusion and complication. I freely admit to being a Facebook junkie. I don’t have a smartphone because I don’t want or need the distraction at work or out with my wife. having said that, I also don’t have a TV hooked up because I don’t like commercials. I do sit here with a laptop, all the time when I’m off work. Facebook is always open in a tab…waiting…a message or a change in the little number and I pounce…like now, Z and I are chatting as I write this…I digress. I’ve been cutting my friends list. As a percentage, I’d estimate about 30% in the last month. In actual numbers, from a high of 2505 while I was gaming a couple of years ago to in the low 190’s now. A bunch were right after I quit PvP games online. More recently, it has been some people I’ve known for years, some for more than 35 years. There’s a point to this…

I am really not “political”. I am cynical enough to think that no politician cares about me as an individual. They just see a potential vote and pander to what might gain them that vote. I freely admit to having opinions about some issues, none of which I’m going to discuss here. Nope, no debate about which political party or candidate I support or despise. No foreign policy discussions. Nothing about where our taxes go…Again, I digress…

The point to this, seemingly un-connected ramble really is coming…

I decided to spend more energy, by reducing complication and confusion, on the things that are important to me. I don’t have the time or desire to keep hanging on to distractions. I don’t want to be a social media “collector”. I kept the blood relations and spouses. I kept the friends I talk to out here or often in there. I kept Aj and Z that are as close as family and I think of as my closest friends that are not my wife. I kept one account that is deleted because it’s my wife’s deleted account and that’s where we met…Crap, I can not keep from digressing…

Priorities. That was the point of this post. Reducing confusion and complication, yeah, that was it…

I started writing this blog for everyone. I tried to be all inclusive when I made a post. I tried to say something about Religious Freedom, LBGT Rights, Marriage Equality, and Christianity in every post. I thought I needed to. It seems, as part of a subconscious process, to have become less…and more…I will get back to writing about some of the topics. I will go back to writing about being tolerant of religious views outside your own, just not now…

It’s a matter of priorities. It became, rapidly in the blog, about a specific person, Z. I can prioritize a short list of people easier than I can a huge one. It is less confusing to me to say that my wife is my first priority and everyone else comes second. It simplifies my perspective and writing if I write for and about Z. It isn’t that other’s rights are less important to them or the aim of gaining rights for Z, it’s just easier on my middle-aged mind to focus on one person. Luckily, I have one person as that focus on when I write Z.

LBGT rights are not political. They are a matter of what’s in the Constitution. That document does not make an exception for sexual orientation. It says “citizens”. The point I am really trying to make is that LBGT rights are personal. They affect individuals. We don’t deprive a group. We tell a couple that they can not get married. We tell a person that we value them, specifically, less than we value another. We tell them that we feel that we have a right to not be exposed to them as individuals.

Here’s a clue, you don’t have those rights. You do not have any moral obligation to discriminate against Z. You don’t have a Constitutional right to not be exposed to her. Again, priorities. You can choose to not interact with her in a social setting. You can choose to not go to the same church. You can decide to go fishing in a different spot. You can do those just as I have decided to pare down the list of “social” interactions I have.

That’s kind of where I started out on this ramble…In the last few weeks, I’ve been learning that to reduce confusion and complication, I need to focus on individuals. I need to spend my emotional energy on those that need the energy I have to give to them specifically. That I have to conserve and protect it so that I might be able to give it away. During this season of my life, it’s less about “society” and more about people. It is about being a good husband to my wife. It’s about supporting Z. It is about being a friend to Aj. It isn’t about “collecting” interactions on social media or commenting on politics or getting angry when people don’t agree with me.

I might get back to writing for a greater whole. I probably won’t, though. Individuals are important. I think I’ll treasure and support the ones I have and that have me…

2 comments

  1. By focusing on the people, you make your writing more personal. It lends it a depth and sincerity that general writing on the issues misses. You make us care about Z, about Sweetie, about You! You are on the right track. Keep that train running!

Leave a Reply

