Baking Cupcakes With Purple Spray Paint or, Stereotypes Are For Suckers…

Usually, I’m editing posts by this time of the morning. It seems odd not to be. I woke up late without the tiniest clue what to write about. Maybe that’s a good thing. Nothing within the context of this blog has p/o’ed me. The trolls, meaning people in the world like idiot County Clerks and Public Officials, are becoming marginalized. No one has made any majorly vocal attacks, lately, on the people I love. Yeah, I’m sure some “pop culture” bonehead or politician has said something dumb but, I avoid those like the plague. So, maybe I’ll just wander around for a couple of hours and see what comes out…

Don’t get me wrong. Prejudice and fear haven’t mysteriously gone away. Religious persecution hasn’t ended overnight…nor do I expect to ever end. People will insist on interjecting their views and hates into issues untill there are no more people. I get that. It just seems, for now, that we’re all taking a tiny step back and regrouping for the next go around…

I’m a soft hearted cynical old grouch. *grins* I don’t want to like people. I want to limit my exposure. The problem is, what I want me to be and what I am don’t always coincide. Would that it were that easy. *sigh* My life would be much simpler if I didn’t find myself actually liking people. *Yes, Aj, there is the truth* I can not quite bring myself to only having Aj, Z, and Sweety for friends. Every time I turn around, the list seems to get bigger. *Yes, Kelladillo, this means you*  Go look at the people I call “family” on Facebook…well, you can’t because I’ve got it locked down, never mind. I digress. If you could, you’d find several that are “family by choice”. It seems that I’m nicer than I want to be. *editorial, looking at the number of times I’ve used “I” so far, I’m also more narcissistic…* Anyway…I keep finding people I like. It seem like a bad thing because it makes me have to expand the amount of “energy” I don’t get to keep but, it seems like a good thing because maybe my cynicism is misplaced…a bit…because there are more decent people in the world than I expect and I’ve just been looking in the wrong places…I suppose *sigh* it’s a good thing that I’m finding people that are giving me reasons to be less cynical. It just makes me question my own world view, too…just like I try to convince other people to do…

*grins* I’ve learned, am learning, that there are more people to like and enjoy than just the people that are “just like me”. It’s kind of a running joke, at least to me, to ask “where did all these damn Pagans come from?” The reason for the humor is that I used to not even think they existed. I really did. I thought it was a joke. “Witches, you’re kidding, right?” They, the Pagans, have made me welcome in their world…even though I’m really not part of it. I keep finding out that there are not really any stereotypical Pagans. You won’t see them walking down the street in black robes and pointed hats…*Yes, Shelby, I expect that you might…on Halloween…* They just happen to have a different spirituality than mine, not different morality or ethics…

The same is true for the people I know and love that are gay. I’m sure that someone somewhere fits the stereotype but, the ones I know don’t… In fact, go ahead, try to stereotype Z. I dare you. Try to pin her political views to the stereotype. Try to make her style fit a box. Nope, she doesn’t fit any mould you think she should…

For that matter, neither do I. I can’t seem to find a box to fit…damn boxes again…My past, addict turned Conservative Christian to become sober, should dictate a closed mind. My upbringing, upper middle-class Texan conservative, should have narrowed my views of what I think is “acceptable”. Oddly enough, I can’t do it. I have this tiny difficulty. I can think for myself. I don’t want to have friends that are “just like me”. I’m not “just like me”. I don’t mind that people are “differently normal”. Those are the fun ones. They make you think. They give you reasons to question your perceptions of “proper”. They let you see a different world than the one you thought existed. Sure, there are things that people do that I despise. There are actions and beliefs that I will never condone but, the people I associate with, and that allow me into their worlds, don’t do those things. I’ve never really asked about the rituals of Paganism. I don’t want to know. I don’t want to know what other friends do in their bedrooms. Neithe of those are “my business”. I do want to know, and they sometimes tell me, how their path became what it is. I am curious to know how we got to here, where out paths join for this season…

So, maybe I’ve just grown up a bit? Maybe I have become “nicer” in my middle age? A little less willing to look at the outward appearance or the differences? Maybe I’ve been wrong that “anyone under 30 has nothing I want to hear”…*yes, N and S, there are “kids” that are giving me reason for hope for the future*…and that the world won’t be an effed up place when they are running things?

I think that’s today’s lesson and post. I think that people defy being stereotyped and, if you are able, seeing beyond those is a good thing. Looking for the parts of people that don’t fit your norm or expectations and finding common ground anyway, is not a bad way to live. I wasn’t invited into the lives of my friends and people that are becoming friends because of the diversity nor were they invited into mine for that reason but, *grins* it can be really cool to find something unexpected and marvel at it. People, Humans, are the most interesting thing you will ever find. The good ones are a gift beyond price. Take those unexpected gifts. Learn that stepping out of your world and into another is a “good thing”. It’s worth the effort, I promise…

 

Leave a Reply

