Aj Is Going to Hell

My best friend is an immoral Pagan witch. She’s rejected Christian Morality. She outright refuses to accept the concepts of Christian repressed sexuality. She makes her own rules and worships her own gods, plural. She has her own rituals and practices divination. Yeah, she’s going to Hell and there’s nothing I can do about it. Not only that, she doesn’t even believe Hell exists…

So, if she’s going there, why do Christians, not all of us but, enough, feel a need to persecute her during this life. I mean, if you believe someone is going to Eternal Damnation, isn’t that enough? You think the condition of her soul means you have the right to be a jerk to one of God’s Creations, even if you think that she’s an “offense against God” and that, when He created her he made a mistake. That somehow, you’re showing her what True Christian Values are by letting her know you think she has no value? That God will praise you for showing His love to her by treating her like she has no worth?

This is what you have taught her by your examples… “I wish for true religious freedom every day but I know that as long as it is a christian based society there never will be…I have learned to walk quietly so that I am not persecuted for my belief. I do not hide who I am or deny my personal truths.” You have taught that you only believe in religious freedom for yourself. You have taught that she WILL be persecuted for her belief. You have taught her this, “If you are such a damn good christian then follow your own commandments and guidelines. Love your neighbor, do not judge and do unto others as you would have done unto you” and that you will not. You have taught her that my “heresy” in treating her as a human, a loved and cherished human that happens to not be Christian, is vanishingly rare among Christians.

You realize that you failed? If you value the souls of unbelievers, then there is one that you will never be able to save because YOU have driven it away. Your actions. Your failure to show, by the example you set, that your path is worth emulating, means that her soul is beyond reach. Once, you might have had a chance, now it is too late for her… The question does remain, what will you do now? How will you reach out to the next person you would send to Hell? What love will you reach out with? Will you invite them into the warmth of your home and life? Will you teach them, without words, of the depth of your faith? By the love for them you express, will you show them that their souls have worth and their lives matter or will you reject them and send another worthless Pagan to Hell? Will you cause them to find community away from yours and take away any chance you might have had to “save” them? What will you do to the next chance you have?

*****

My best friend is a Pagan. I am not. This is what I believe. I believe that God is able to do anything. I believe He shows himself in the form He best thinks will be received.  I believe that, to Christians, He appeared in a form we can accept. I believe that it is possible that he presents Himself to others in a way that they might accept.

I am not trying to “Christianize” Pagans or Aj. I know she doesn’t even allow for the Christian Hell to exist. I know that she will never be a Christian and yet, I also don’t think she’s going to Hell. Her soul may be a bit banged up around the edges but, the core of it is as solid as any I know. That soul, that person that lights candles for me, that shows concern for my life and my fears, has nothing to worry about. That human, that soul that animates the shell that lives on this earth, is valuable to me. I believe that soul will not go to Hell just because she’s not Christian.

 

11 comments

    1. Aj is my best friend in the world besides my wife. What sucks is that my faith would make her less because of hers. We, Christians and Pagans, have to find common ground. I’ll take the hit on this one because it’s the Christians pushing the Pagans away. Luckily for me, Aj was a friend before we ever discussed faith. I assumed she was Christian. She took the risk of driving me away by “coming out” to me. I was given a choice. adapt my views or discard her. MUCH soul searching followed. Finally, I kept the human and changed the views. The gain has been mine.

    1. Sharon, I don’t make any attempt to. My point, in the article, was that Christians don’t give any example of Christianity when we push people away by judging. This line ” Will you cause them to find community away from yours and take away any chance you might have had to “save” them?” appears so but, these “I am not trying to “Christianize” Pagans or Aj. I know she doesn’t even allow for the Christian Hell to exist. I know that she will never be a Christian and yet, I also don’t think she’s going to Hell. Her soul may be a bit banged up around the edges but, the core of it is as solid as any I know. That soul, that person that lights candles for me, that shows concern for my life and my fears, has nothing to worry about. That human, that soul that animates the shell that lives on this earth, is valuable to me. I believe that soul will not go to Hell just because she’s not Christian.” take back that line.

  1. I know that you have learned not to, Miller. But, basically, you are admonishing Christians to tolerate Pagans only to be able to find a chance to save them. I don’t need a bunch of Christians being nice to me just to have an opportunity to proselytize. Be nice to me because I am a nice person, too.

    1. You misread intent. I am admonishing Christians to not drive people away by their actions. I don’t presume to know what motivates Pagans to find Paganism. I do know that some might have stayed Christian if we had been less hateful and showed the love we allegedly espouse. Does that make sense?

      1. My advice is that if you want to know what motivates Pagans to find Paganism, just ask us. Many pagans like to share their story about how they came to their path. As for why people deconvert from Christianity, different people leave for different reason. Sometimes it’s because of bad behavior, but I think most of the time it’s because people realize they just don’t agree with it. As for me, I left Christianity because I never connected with either Yahweh, or Jesus. It seemed as much as I prayed and begged for them to be in my life the answer was always no. I have felt the presence of Pagans gods in ways that I never did with the Christian god. There are numerous other reasons that keep me away from Christianity, but at the end of the day I just don’t agree with the religion, it’s basic tenets and beliefs. I have a lot of theological disagreements with Christianity. Christians being nice to me isn’t going to make me want to revert to Christianity.

      2. Like I’ve been told, “Ask 5 Pagans, get 5 different answers”. *grins* My intent is not to make Pagans “revert”. It is to make Christians act towards others as they want to be treated, in other words, follow the Golden Rule. I like that Aj is Pagan. It is a part of who she is. If you read, I do not want her to change. Christianity doesn’t suit everyone and I understand that. If “old-fashioned Christian guilt” works as a way to make my faith act more civilly towards yours, I’ll use it. Hope this made sense. Not to get into a theological debate but, there are parts of my faith that I don’t agree with either so, I take the “words in red” ie Jesus as what I follow and use the rest under advisement. Polytheism isn’t a fit…for me. Oh well. Thanks for commenting

  2. Just as the pagans who commented here don’t hide what is in their heart, as a Christian I won’t either. Part of being a Christian is to desire that all people will know Jesus. That doesn’t mean we can make it happen. However, I’m nice to people because they are people, no matter what they believe. And even though I wish everyone would know Jesus, that is not my motive for being nice to them, inviting them into my home and my life, etc. I invite them because they intrest me, or I want to be their friend, or they show up, or just BECAUSE! Just as pagans don’t want to be judged or befriended because they are pagans and someone is trying to “save” them, I would appreciate the same courtesy of not being told “please don’t try to save me, I don’t need it.” Please accept me the way you want to be accepted. I still want you to know Jesus. You telling me not to want that for you is telling me to deny my own faith to accommodate yours. But understand, my wanting that does not mean I will be trying to ” proselytize” you. If I tell you what I believe or what Jesus has done for me, please allow that is part of me just as your “religious” experiences are part of you. I pray for people that I love or care about and for those that I don’t. That’s who I am. Allow me to be who I am just as you want to be “allowed” to be who you are. I’m not trying to save you. That Is not within my power. I can be your friend, relative,etc. and be nice to you. If the friendship is close enough, have real ups and downs in the friendship. And I can care about you, or truly love you. That is all.

Leave a Reply

