D**n Confusing Woman…or, An Old Comfortable Pair of Jeans…

I have a friend. *grins* I really have several but, this is about one. She easily GIVES praise, when she thinks it’s deserved and will argue you into the ground to make you see it in yourself but, she REFUSES to see it in herself. Allow me to quote her…

“Sometimes I have to step back. I do not see in myself these things you write about me. I am just being me. I live my life the best way I can and do my best to always be kind and caring. I have my human moments but I ground myself and remember that every thing and every person has a purpose. I may not always know what that purpose is, but I am certain that there is one. With me just being me, I am at times taken aback when I realize these words are about me.”

Yes, you are human. I used the phrase, “In truth, she can be a stone b***h and highly opinionated”. You are entirely capable of being petty and spiteful. You are able to “beat me up” over a misphrased idea. Some days all I want to say is, “give me a break”. So what?

This was my reply to her, “… you agreed without any condition or editorial input, to be used as an example. You allow and encourage me to share details of your life, health, and faith. You, although you know me well enough to know they exist, have never set any boundaries on what is permissible to reveal. You want me to show your imperfections and failings. You have given unconditional trust to me. Do you know ANYONE else willing to do that? It’s easy to say things about ourselves. It is a far different thing to trust someone else to do that, even your best friend. See?…”

Think about that for a bit. How many of us are willing to let someone, even a trusted friend, to do that? How many are willing to, no matter the cause or end, are willing to be used as an example and have our lives shown to strangers, look at the warts and all, to show the frailties, comment on the sexuality, point out the chronic illness, use their faith, to be the Hammer?

Part of me wants to say, “okie dokie, here ya go” but…I can’t quite bring myself to…

People are confusing. We mistake being human for being perfect. We see our defects very clearly and our glories not at all. We are blind to what we do and when it is pointed out, automatically dismiss it.

So, what’s all this have to do with writing about how Christians and Pagans interact? Actually, not much…unless you figured out that it’s Aj that I’m talking about. Even then, there’s no direct reference to Paganism or Christianity…and, unless I rewrite this, won’t be…

It’s an odd thing, she likes the posts where I write about her humanity. She enjoys being The Hammer. Those aren’t fun for me. I like the “nice” posts, the ones where I get to talk about the regard I hold her in, the ones with the “hero worship” in them. The truth about her is probably someplace in the middle…

It’s kind of like an old comfortable pair of jeans, her friendship. It fits. It’s soft and comfortable. It has meaning beyond its apparent worth. When it started out it was starchy and stiff…now, even if we talk on text or chat, I hear her voice… I have a memory of a hug on a warm summer day…I know that when I need some thought, she was doing it before I knew I needed it…I didn’t want her as a friend but, as time goes on, I realize she was the friend I NEEDED…and still do.

Broken down into her parts, you might judge a bit and find the whole wanting but, the whole is what matters…and that’s the lesson. If you take people apart, you’ll always find something to dislike. Stop doing that…even to people that confuse you.

5 comments

  1. I think that when someone–anyone, even a best friend–writes about another, in the end, we always end up with an opinion of the writer about the subject, clouded or brightened by all the writer’s perceptions of the subject and the world. So in the end, we don’t get the actual person, but what the writer thinks of the person. It’s a good exercise in penmanship and in trust (like you say, the person allowing the writer to use him/her as an all-things-go-subject is giving lots of trust). The resulting tales are often very educational. And I think that they tell us more about the writer than about the subject.

    1. I agree. Writing about Aj teaches me about me. It reminds me that I’ve had to learn to trust people…one person at a time. Because of the love I have for my best friend, I KNOW without the tiniest doubt, that I have an image of her that is colored by that and have to remind myself that it isn’t “fair” to her to hold her up as a standard that I can not hold myself to. The “best friend” part also changes the way I write. Part of me has a desire to protect her and part says, “you gave me permission so the gloves are off”. *sigh* In the end, protecting usually wins. You know her and know she’s not “fragile” but, if I could, I’d wrap her in tissue paper and protect her from the harms of the World. *sigh* Again, unfair and I can not…Yeah, more about the writer than the subject.

      1. This will cause much pondering and “consultation” with my “teacher” ie Aj. She helps me to stumble through the “confusing bits”. Not by telling me what to think but, by pointing out that I have to learn it and showing the gaps so I might find and fill them.

Leave a Reply

